Tuesday, October 4, 2022

Latest Posts

UFC 273 fight card primer: Gilbert Burns vs. Khamzat Chimaev 

The non-title three-round occasion of UFC 273 will characteristic a welterweight battle between Gilbert Burns (20-4 MMA, 13-4 UFC) and Khamzat Chimaev (10-0 MMA, 4-0 UFC). UFC 273: Volkanovski vs. The Korean Zombie airs dwell from VyStar Veterans Memorial Area in Jacksonville, Florida this Saturday, April ninth. The principle card will begin with a battle time of 10:00 p.m. ET/7:00 p.m. PT, with the ESPN/ESPN+ prelims starting at 8:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. PT and the early prelims kicking off at 6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT.

How do these two stack up?

Burns: 35 years outdated | 5’10” | 71” attain

Chimaev: 27 years outdated | 6’2” | 75” attain

What have these two finished just lately?

Burns: W – Stephen Thompson (DEC) | L – Kamaru Usman (TKO) | W – Tyron Woodley (DEC)

Chimaev: W – Li Jingliang (SUB) | W – Gerald Meerschaert (KO) | W – Rhys McKee (TKO)

How did these two get right here?

Deemed one of many scariest fighters within the welterweight division immediately, Khamzat Chimaev is about to face the hardest check of his skilled profession to date. And who poses such a problem to the undefeated sensation? None apart from Gilbert Burns, the one-time title challenger who sees no reason to fear the upstart, regardless of his sheer dominance in his fights.

A two-division surprise, Chimaev has completed all of his opponents in devastating vogue, together with first-round thrashings of Rhys McKee, Gerald Meerschaert and Li Jingliang in current UFC appearances. With every efficiency higher than the final, it might solely be a matter of time earlier than ‘Borz’ nabs these championship alternatives he’s been calling for, however he should get by means of Burns first.

Following a failed title bid in opposition to reigning champion Kamaru Usman, Burns returned to the win column with a unanimous decision over Stephen Thompson at UFC 264 this previous July. He now has the possibility so as to add one other win to his resume and cease a surging prospect , nevertheless it gained’t be straightforward.

Why must you care?

Will Chimaev rise to the event once more? Or will Burns show he’s greater than a mere stepping stone? Guess we’ll discover out shortly.

Source link

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Posts

Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.